earthwoooooorrrm – (Dictionary, Shmictionary)

“…about a time when you used a word whose meaning you didn’t actually know”
The most memorable episode I remember was when I was in 6th grade. It’d just rained, and there were many earthworms out in the road. One of them looked to be a foot-n-1/2 to 2′ long! I excitedly went to tell a friend about it.

In doing-so, I found my chance to use a new word I thought I knew. I went up to him & said, “I just found a big earthworm & it is not literally this big,” [indicating with my hands as to its size.] (I guess I was thinking “literally” meant like “literary fiction”) I was devastated to find that I’d used a smarty-pants word wrong. [Is it “wrong” or “wrongly”???] {“wrongwise”?}

Copyright 2014

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/dictionary-shmictionary/

